Huge congratulations to our 2022 shortlist for the European Social Services Awards. Under the theme ‘Innovation for Social Change’, this year’s Awards give visibility to those developing new, creative and inspiring solutions to a structural challenge, a deep-rooted problem or an emerging need.

Over eighty applications were received in the following categories: service delivery, workforce support, collaborative practice, research project, technology tool, and our Excellence Award for social innovation in cities. The projects range from new partnerships to provide personalised care to specialised digital tools for the learning and development of social services and care workforce to evaluations of innovative programmes.

All the projects can be viewed here

Shortlisting Process

The shortlists for each category were selected by the expert judging panel who spent the past few weeks evaluating the projects received. The panel shares strong experience in social service management, planning, funding, provision, and research. Its composition aims to reflect the diversity of the ESN community by achieving a balance of gender, countries, areas of social services, sectors, levels of government, seniority, and expertise of the theme.

Public Voting

In order to reflect the nature of ESN as a platform for the wider social services community as well as a network of experts, an online public vote will be held for all shortlisted applications that will be combined with the judges’ scores to determine the winners.

Voting will be launched in early October on the ESSA website and is open to the public.

Want to find out who the winners are?

Join us for the announcement of the winners of the 2022 European Social Services Awards on 17-18 November 2022 in Málaga, Spain. Register now to…

  • Discover the most innovative projects in social services in Europe
  • Meet our partners, pioneers in innovation from the private sector
  • Network during thematic panel discussions on workforce, cross-sectoral partnerships and innovation in cities

Click here to register.