Skip to main content

Council of the EU

The Council of the European Union is composed of Government ministers from each EU country, according to the policy area to be discussed (ex: all education ministers on education matters). It is not the same as the European Council.
The European Council is composed of EU Heads of state or government, the European Commission President and the High Representative for Foreign Affairs & Security Policy. The Council defines the general political direction and priorities of the EU.