The Social Care Standards Authority (SCSA) of Malta is the public authority responsible for the regulation and licensing of all social welfare service providers in Malta. SCSA is also the designate Central Authority under the Adoption Administration Act and Foster Care Act.

Main Areas of Work

  • Children and young people
  • Children at risk of social exclusion
  • Homeless
  • Elderly
  • People with addiction
  • People with physical disabilities
  • People with mental disabilities
  • Mental health
  • Public Health
  • People who are socially vulnerable
  • People in situations of difficulty or precarity
  • Counteracting and supporting victims of gender-based violence
  • Migrants
  • Social Integration
  • Poverty
  • Recipients of care
  • Foster care

Responsibilities/ Services

  • Promotion of systemic change
  • Role of the social worker
  • Capacity building and training
  • Professional training
  • Conducting inspections
  • Research/ identifying and monitoring of social problems